New cocktail in search of a name…EDIT: Indian Summer

20120911-192932.jpg

 

I was playing around with a bottle of Aperol in the kitchen tonight while cooking up some bbq tofu tacos (recipe to follow). I wanted to make something with some tequila similar to the Crimson Ghost recipe from last winter. I think I came about it with this take on a Negroni meets Crimson Ghost meets…whatever. It also needs a name. Everything I’ve come up with is a smash of lame cocktails and lacks inspiration (maybe I haven’t drank enough?). Anyway, it’s delightful. The flavors really work together and I could see making a few small substitutions to really brighten it up.

1 oz. Aperol (you could sub Campari but I’d lessen the amount as to not overpower the remaining ingredients)
3/4 oz. Gin
3/4 oz. Blanco Tequila (choose a fuerte’ tequila so it doesn’t get lost, I used Espolon. A repo like Espolon of Chinaco could do nice things as well.)
3/4 oz. Dolin Blanc Vermouth ( the sweet kind, NOT dry vermouth)
Twist of Lime
Dash of Angostura Bitters

It’s too bad summer is over as this is a great summer drink…Indian Summer is the name!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “New cocktail in search of a name…EDIT: Indian Summer”

  1. sybaritica Says:

    Very nice .. make mine a double 🙂

Leave a Reply

