Rio Grande

Today a coworker and I were digging on some Mexican, well she was at least. I dig on Mexican all the time. Its been a while since we’ve gone out to lunch and we were in the mood for something new. We’ve been to a few places neaerby but none even worth mentioning here, today that changed.

I had checked out the menu online prior and it had promise, but it was also filled with all those typical cheese covered, pre-made salsa type dishes. While eyeing the menu I saw my ticket, Tacos Jalisco Style available in asada, pastor, chicken or carnita’s…Pastor please!

 

20120323-145824.jpg

Well you should have known, but I ordered the Pastor AND carnita’s. They were made just how I like too, freshly chopped onion, cilantro, radish and double wrapped in corn tortilla’s. First up was the carnita’s. They were a little light on the amount of meat used but they were still great. You could make the case that they were slightly overcooked but I liked the crisp edges in contrast to the juicy meat inside that added a wonderful “homemade” feel to them. I ended up ditching  the second tortilla being that they weren’t too wet and the tortilla’s were pretty thick and soaked up all the flavors. I ended up doing this for all the tacos although the al pastor tacos were on the verge of busting for the last bite. The al pastor was phenomenal!  Wonderfully spiced with earthy dry flavors of achiote but still moist and sweet from the pineapple. These are a must get. In fact they could be the best in Greensboro…for now. Carnita’s 3.5/5, Al Pastor 5/5.

Everything was fresh, including the salsa and my coworkers veggie burrito was filled with squash and broccoli which also looked great. I didn’t try it but she enjoyed it. They had a decent tequila selection so my next visit will include beers and a shot…or two. Give this place a shot, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised.

Apparently this place must be starting a trend. Soon you’ll see his face just like you see Soprano’s pics in Italian restaurants.

20120323-145835.jpg

 

Rio Grande
6909 Downwind Road, Greensboro, NC
(336) 393-0524
riograndegrillandcantina.com

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

