The Crimson Ghost

20120219-190930.jpg

No this isn’t the logo to the misfits or the 1940’s movie which inspired it but you should be jamming out to the ‘fits while drinking this. Over Christmas my wife and I went to Holeman and Finch, the serious craft cocktail bar and amazing eatery. One of their featured cocktails was the Crimson Ghost made with mezcal, vermouth, aperol and orange bitters. I couldn’t resist and ordered one. It was everything I wanted and more. Silky, smokey, sublime and any other descriptive word that begins with “S.” The next day I wanted another so I raided our liquor cabinet and started concocting.

Luckily I knew the ingredients, now it was just about proportions. I’ll cut to the chase but the first one was pretty spot on, by the third batch it was about perfect. The recipe is below, now you have an excuse to buy that mezcal you’ve been wanting.

1.5oz Sombra Mezcal
.75oz Dolin Vermouth
.75oz Aperol
2 dashes of orange bitters

Pour all the ingredients into a shaker add ice and pour into a martini glass. Don’t be lazy like me and add a twist of orange to garnish. Salud!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

