You should not drink and bake – Habanero Cookies!

Thanks Arnie for that advice but I did it anyway. The clip above is from Raw deal and is totally one of the most underrated, awesome Arnie one-liners. So I did it, I was drinking (Casa Noble Blanco) and baking. I didn’t throw a cake but I did have a craving for some homemade chocolate chip cookies and in typical Johnny Boots style I had to tweak it. It just so happened I had a bunch of habanero’s left over from the Puerco Pibil I had made earlier in the week and didn’t want to waste them. So…I put them in the cookies.

Man this whole post reeks of Arnold awesomeness, maybe I should rename these cookies Arnies transgressions. They’re stupid easy to make. If you spend more than 30 minutes making these, your doing it wrong, or drinking while baking, which is acceptable. I will worn you, these aren’t everyone’s cup of tea. In fact, they’re not really my cup of tea. Don’t get me wrong, if you like you sweet and spice mixed together, you’ll love these. The heat has this mild sustaining burn that is immensely warming, but not over the top and nothing a glass of water won’t fix. This is the 3rd or 4th time I’ve done the spicy/dessert combo and I have to say it’s not for me. However for a little bit of time and very little moo-lah, you should give it a shot. Especially if you dig the (almost over) trend of mixing spice and sweet.

Ingredients
3/4 Cup Packed Brown Sugar
3/4 Cup Granulated Sugar
1 Cup Butter, Softened
1 Egg
2 1/4 Coups All-Purpose Flour
1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
1/2 Teaspoon Salt
1/2 c Dried Pineapple, chopped
1 White Chocolate Bar, crumbled
3-4 Habanero’s, Diced

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350*, mix the sugars, butter and egg in a bowl. Stir the clumps out until grainy. Next stir in the fluor, baking soda and salt. When mixed thoroughly add the pineapple, chocolate and habanero. Using a tablespoon, spoon out evenly over a cookie sheet giving ample room so they don’t bleed together and bake for approx 10-12 minutes depending on if you like them hard or soft. Enjoy!

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

