Pickled Red Onions – a recipe from the gods

 

I know, bold statement about something with 5 ingredients that requires almost no cooking but I’m serious. Last night I was having a conversation with my bosses wife about pickled onions and I told her I had a recipe for some Mexican style that added a little heat to them. It’d been a while since I’ve made these delectable little bastards so I decided to whip up a batch and pass along the recipe. Pickled onions are a great condiment to use for tacos, nachos, tortas, or whatever you can dream up. It’s stupid easy to make to boot. Have at it.

The Ingredients

1 Red Onion, sliced thin
2 Serrano Peppers, sliced thin longways
1 c white vinegar
1 1/2 c water
2-3 tbsp sugar, depending on how sweet you want
1/2 tsp Kosher Salt (I always use Kosher salt in my recipes, and no I’m not Jewish)

How-to

In a pot on low heat combine the water, vinegar, salt and sugar and stir until the salt and sugar are dissolved. Add the onions and peppers, stir and remove from heat. Place everything in a bowl to cool and cover. Leave out overnight then refrigerate. This should keep for about a week, if it lasts that long. Enjoy

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Pickled Red Onions – a recipe from the gods”

  1. itsybitsybrianna Says:

    I LOVE pickled onions.
    I know so many people that just hate the thought of them, yet will not give them a chance.
    They are SOOO delicious
    –bB
    http://www.itsybitysbrianna.wordpress.com

  2. elcazadordetaco Says:

    Thanks Brianna, maybe we should come up with a new name. I can admit “Pickled Onions” doesn’t exactly sound appetizing but they are delicious. Check out the recipe and let me know what you think.

    Thanks for checking out the site.

Leave a Reply

