Monster Effen California Burger!

So today (last monday in reality) I decided I needed a really killer burger. I mean one that pulls all the stops and breaks the rules. Today, it was the California burger. Why do they call it the Cali burger? What more would you expect from a state that votes in a former actor/bodybuilder/time-travelling cyborg as governor? or a state with dude’s named Kelly and Brody? and what state would take a perfectly good burger and top it with a heap of guacamole? thats right…California.

I was going to go with beef but decided in the store to go for turkey. I mean, come on if you had to pick a state that would invent a beef burger you’d say Texas, a turkey burger? no question, California. You know they say California is like a granola bar, when you take out all the fruits and nuts you just left with a handful of flakes. I know I should be a comedian. But seriously it’s all these fruits, nuts, and flakes that would make something like this. I used a big heap of Guac from my recipe below (scroll down), grilled up some red onion, tomato, toasted kaiser rolls, and a thin spread of some Mayo seasoned with adobo, garlic, cumin, lime and S+P. I also decided that all these toppings just weren’t awesome enough so I mixed an egg, some chipotle peppers in adobe, cilantro and garlic into the ground turkey too. I needed something for the side and I forgot to buy chips being that I had all this guac so I made some fries cooked in duckfat. I had some extra of that amazingly seasoned mayo and used that to dip all of this in.

So there you have it, a complex culinary creation by compounding a culmination of cultures to craft a colossal californian carnivorous constitution. Enjoy!

Turkey Burgers

2 lbs Ground Turkey
3-4 Chipotle Peppers in adobo sauce, chopped
1 egg
1/2 tsp ground cumin
1/4 c cilantro, chopped
S+P

Mix the above ingredients together and cook to your liking. Add guacamole, grilled onion and other condiments to rock your world.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

