The greatest mussel recipe to ever rock my kitchen

That declaration ain’t no lie either. This is my second attempt at this recipe that I found a few months ago by punching “chipotle mussel recipe” in the ole google. Whoever put the original recipe together must like eating raw mussels since the cooking time is drastically low for 2lbs of shellfish. My first attempt yielded a partially cooked batch that needed to be thrown back in the pot and cooked a few more minutes. I even stirred them midway through and added a few minutes to the cooking time. Tonight I upped it a few more minutes and they were spot on. Jesus Christ himself couldn’t have made a better batch including fabricating the mussels and bread himself. Now I don’t make bread or mussels from scratch, sorry I don’t got the tools but I’ll take the Devil went down to Georgia challenge with that bearded bastard any ole day of the week. It also made me realize that all the pots of mussels that I’ve made that I consider to be the best all use “stock” in the recipe. I usually use a vegetable stock since my pseudo vegetarian wife who now eats mussels wont use chicken or fish stock. Tonight I did a pot along with a baguette of French bread. As usual there was also a few glasses of tequila and some Negra Modelo on hand.

This recipe almost wasn’t tested tonight too. We were at Whole Foods to pick up the ingredients for this here fine dish and when we got over to the seafood counter some unrinal cake of a man almost ran my wife over to get some mussels for himself. I was starting to sweat since what they had left didn’t look so hot and he went from asking for 2lbs to 3. Luckily he got his 3lbs and we got our 2lbs. I was asking Amy what we would make if this bonafone got the last of the mussels when I realized I wanted these soo bad I would have stolen them out of his cart. After making them, the jail time would have been worth it.

I cracked open a Yuengling Bock Beer to start the cooking and thought about using it in the recipe before I thought it was a little too stout. So I reached for a Negra Modelo, god knows theres always plenty of that in my fridge. I set aside 1/2 cup of the Negra for the recipe and downed the rest.  Anyway heres the recipe, cook it up and prepare to have your culo destroyed.

As far as drink pairing are concerned, I started with a glass of the previously mentioned Cielo. I thought it’s spice and heat would have been a great match to the Chipotle’s and heat this dish brings. After my first sip I realized a Repo would have been the better choice. The better choices name was Espolon, and man was that perfect. The complexity of the oak aging and peppery spice in this bottle nailed it. As for a beer, please. Negra Modelo.

Ingredients
2 tablespoons butter, divided
1 large shallot, thinly sliced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1-2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, seeded and finely chopped
1/2 cup draught beer, at room temperature If you use anything but Negra Modelo you deserve to be slapped
1/2 cup fish or chicken stock
Juice of 1 lime
2 pounds mussels, scrubbed and debearded aka get the Jesus out of them
1/2 cup creme fraice or whipping cream
Salt and freshly ground pepper to taste
1 tablespoon fresh chopped cilantro

Directions
In large pot with lid, melt 1 tablespoon butter until foamy.
Add shallot and cook until translucent, about 3 to 5 minutes.
Add garlic and chipotle peppers and saute for 1 minute.
Add beer, stock and lime juice and bring to a boil.
Add mussels, cover and steam until mussels open, about 8-10  minutes.
Divide mussels among 4 warmed bowl.
Whisk creme fraiche (or whipping cream) into cooking liquid and simmer to reduce slightly, about 3 minutes.
Remove from heat and whisk in 1 tablespoon butter.
Season to taste with salt and pepper, whisk in cilantro and ladle hot sauce over mussels.
Serve immediately and chock that up for a 5 outta 5 chaka’s

Leave a Reply

