Las Torta’s in Doraville -possibly the best tacos in Atlanta

So the other Sunday it was my birthday and my wife left me with the dogs while she went to work on finals projects at school. Not wanting to spend the entire day at home I hit up the $2 movie theater Gwinnett Mall to check out “Predators” and since its on the other side of town for me I decided to swing through Norcross to nab some tacos at a joint I havent been to in months. This place has always been one of my favorites but for whatever reason completely forgot to mention it here. Anyway todays trip made me realize this is possibly the best taco joint so far.

Its a quiet little place next to the Shell station (you know gas station joints are always the best right?) on the corner of 141 and Jimmy Carter. The area is a little sketchy after dark but I’ve never had problems. There is very little room inside, like a bar top and a couple of 2-seat tables. There’s also some tables outside on the patio. Today I ate on the patio since it was nice out and there was a beautiful 67 Mustang fastback in the parking lot I was eyeing.

The menu is pretty broad and colorful enough to induce seizures. Its got a wide array of standard Mexican eats like Burrito’s, Torta’s (obviously) and Taco’s. There’s some other stuff on the menu I’ve just never noticed what it was, too busy looing at the good stuff! They pretty much do all the meats too, Al Pastor, Carnita’s, Barbacoa, Asada, Pollo, Suadero, Cabeza, and Cochinita Pibil. I think they do Shrimp and some other stuff too. I’ve had all their meats that I listed in Torta’s and Taco’s and have yet to be disappointed.

Today I had the Barbacoa and Cochinita Pibil, both were excellent. Last time I had their pibil it definitely wasn’t as good as today. They must have gotten all the juices in the bottom of the pan today. Its served up with double corn tortilla’s and some red onion on top. In the past they’ve given a watery habenaro hot sauce but since I was a gringo they must’ve thought I couldn’t handle it. That or weren’t in the mood to joke around and try to watch me dowse my food in it. If they do give it to you, watch out. It is spicy but I think it gives a needed kick so I use it sparingly. The meat was fantastic and was nice and juicy. Its coloring was deep red and really shows off the annatto.  The flavor has a nice slighty sweet taste but its robust too, like a slow-cooked meat should. The twin yellow corn tortilla’s were fresh as was the onion. This easily gets 5 chaka’s, my first rating that high.

The barbacoa was equally as good but I’ve got to give the nod to the Pibil. It was served with 2 fresh tortilla’s, cilantro and onion. Similarly its a slighty red slow-cooked meat albeit beef instead of suckling pig. Again awesome flavor, 5 out of 5 chaka’s

I definitely need to eat here more often and vary my choices instead of always getting taco’s. The address is below so check it out, I promise you wont be disappointed.

5 CHAKA’S!!!

Las Torta’s
6405 Peachtree Industrial Blvd
Norcross, GA 30092

(770) 368-8747

Leave a Reply

