Mojo Chicken Taco’s and a cold Dos Equis

In continuing to keep this beast updated regularly and since I haven’t been out and about trying out taco joints recently I’ll post some of my more memorable Mexican dishes and this one was no exception. Earlier this morning I took out a chicken breast, dropped it in a ziploc bag and doused it with Mojo. For those of you not familiar with Mojo, its a liquid seasoning often sold in bottles (Badia is available most everywhere) that is citrus based but with lots of garlic and seasonings which are floating around the bottle. I guess you could make some (note to self for next time) and use it per diem but I’ve always just bought a bottle of it. Come dinner time I dropped the chicken breast on the grill and chopped it up when it was done. To serve the “proper” way it was put on 2 corn tortilla’s and topped with freshly chopped onion and cilantro. Its really that easy and at 15-20 minutes to prepare, what the hell are you waiting for? This is the ticket right here, flavorful, easy and shows you have some culture. They’re also great for backyard get-togethers. Have a couple marinating before hand, grill ’em and serve up with a plate of cilantro, onion and a little avocado.

Did I mention I washed it down with a Dos Equis? This is my de facto, always there, wingman, best friend beer. Its always good and refreshing and I can always drink a couple on seconds notice. Where most people would grab a bud or miller, XX fills that spot for me. Its a golden lager thats pretty light on the pallet with a medium head. Its crisp with a touch of bite and has a faintness of lime to it. I don’t put a lime in this by the way, I just don’t do that to my beers. It goes great with chicken and fish on the lighter side, if I was going for a beef or heavy pork dish I’d grab their Amber which is tasty as well.

Anyway, thats it. A quick easy recipe for a monday night or whatever night you decide to serve it on. Later this week we’ll look at Cochinita Pibil, a wonderful pork dish that really showcases Mexican cooking as well as some other things. Stay tuned.

2 Responses to “Mojo Chicken Taco’s and a cold Dos Equis”

  1. susan Says:

    Your food looks great . are you CHEF?

Leave a Reply

